Cutting Sugar and Portion Size

Well so far, we are in day four of the cutting added fructose out of our diet, and I have to say that maybe I wasn’t chemically addicted to sugar after all. It seems that most of my attachment to it is social and associations of that sort. I am not experiencing any withdrawal symptoms. When asked in the Sweet Poison Quit Plan, to list habits related to sugar (especially daily ones) I couldn’t really think of any really definite ones. I like to have a snack with my tea in the evening after Baby goes to bed, but it doesn’t necessarily have to be sweet, in fact it probably usually isn’t. I like eating tea biscuits or toast biscuits, but I think actually more for the way they dissolve in the tea than any sweet taste (my solution was to replace them with crackers). I like sugar in coffee if the coffee is very strong, but not if it is not. And I put sugar in when I made chai (but I don’t do that that often), but I tried it the last two mornings without the sugar and liked it just fine( (On a totally unrelated tangent, I am looking for a more energy efficient way to make my chai that will still taste the same. Basically, I cut off a slice of ginger, give it a few good wacks with the meat tenderizer and throw it into my pot of water. Since I’m making it just for me I measure the water by filling 3/4 of the mug I plan to use. Once the water with the ginger is boiling, I add a scoop of my looseleaf Bangladeshi tea which looks more like coffee grounds than typical American looseleaf tea. Once the water has turned to a proper tea color I add a nice amount of milk (so the color looks good, maybe even a little light) and I reduce the heat a little. Then I leave it all simmering on the stove a good while. Altogether, it probably takes about 30 to 40 minutes for the tea to properly cook. Once I pour it into my mug (through a strainer) the liquid has reduced so much that it only gives me half a cup)).

I realized basically that I don’t really eat a lot of sugar. I feel like I eat more than I should, mostly because it’s just in the food, but I’m not eating or even wanting to eat sweets constantly like is being described in the book. Even as a child, I never cared to have sweets when I was very hungry. I then wanted real food. So sweets were basically a treat. I also don’t want them if I am very full (My mom says there’s always room for ice cream, but I disagree). I was never much of a snacker until I started breastfeeding, and even so I’m not eating sweets all the time because I’m breastfeeding and I’m trying to be healthy. My sister and I did notice people when we were in college used to snack like that, constantly buying candy bars and sweets out of the  vending machines, and my sister speculated that maybe that was why they were so fat because they didn’t even seem aware of their snacking. I don’t like soda. I stopped drinking it sometime around middle school (before that I drank it because it was the only option offered to me in many situations). The book described things starting to taste too sweet to you after you are off of sugar, and they already did. I didn’t care for regular candy bars or chocolates (hadn’t eaten them in years). I likewise didn’t eat flavored yogurts because they were too sweet. There are sweets that I like, but I mostly prefer my sweets less sweet, and I prefer homemade things where my sister and I reduce the sugar by a third to a half. I want to see the recipes and cookbook, and I’m excited about trying the powdered dextrose because I think I might actually like it more than regular sugar if it is less sweet. This isn’t to say I don’t like sweets. Sometimes I get a sweet tooth. I’m just a little particular about them.

Now, on to portion sizes. The book says that dried fruit is unhealthy. The reasoning seems to be that we would eat significantly more of it than we would of the equivalent fruit. I just don’t find that to be true, but the serving sizes suggest at least that other people do. Take prunes for example. I have never when snacking on prunes been tempted to eat more than 2 or 3 at most and that is a lot less than the serving size suggests.  I also would never eat a whole pack of raisins. I don’t think I would eat any more raisins than I would grapes.
This isn’t related to dried fruit, but I bought a bar of dark chocolate a little bit ago, and when I was reading the label it suggested that there were two servings in the package. I was a little shocked, who could eat half the bar in one sitting? To me there were at least 6 servings in the bar, maybe more.

Whether I was chemically addicted to fructose or not, I still think that I’m going to stick to this no sugar thing because I want to be healthier, and I want to be starting good habits with my daughter.

Leave a Reply

