Getting My 8-A-Day

Sometimes it can be hard to get the recommended amount of fruits and vegetables, especially say when you are living with and dependent on someone else. But this Ramadan, it has been easy to get my recommended 8-a-day. Even though I’m eating less overall, I’m eating more fruits and veggies.

Last night for example, I broke my fast with a date, a peach, banana milk (a whole banana), 2 chunks of watermelon, and salad of cucumber, tomato, and cilantro. I then had lentils cooked with asparagus, onion, and green peas. And a little later I had chick peas cooked with onion and tomato. For suhoor, I had more of the lentils. Now that’s probably how I should eat every day.

Leave a Reply

