Asparagus Cheesy Rice

Asparagus is one of those foods, that if you have it at all when it is in season, you probably have more than you know what to do with. For example, my step-father recently gave me a grocery bag full of asparagus. My husband quickly informed me that he wasn’t going to eat any of it. The first thing I did was give a third of it to a neighbor, but I still had an awful lot of asparagus. Since then I have wrapped the asparagus in filo dough with cheddar cheese; made a dal with asparagus, green beans, green chili, onion, cilantro and poached egg, and now today I made a cheesy asparagus rice.

10 stalks asparagus (cut into bite sized pieces)

half an onion, chopped

1 tsp. garlic paste

olive oil

1/2 cup rice

2 cups water

1/2 cup cheddar cheese (grated)

lemon pepper seasoning

Saute the onion and asparagus in olive oil until soft. Add the garlic and lemon pepper seasoning (if you are like me you will add some extra black pepper as well). add the rice and stir for a couple of minutes. Add the water 1 cup at a time. Cook stirring frequently until most of the water is evaporated. Then add more water. Continue cooking over medium/low heat until water is mostly evaporated. Stir in cheddar cheese until melted. Remove from heat.

Leave a Reply

