Improvised Butter Chicken Recipe

I’ve never actually eaten Butter Chicken, so I’m not sure what it is supposed to taste like, but I always come across it when I look up chicken recipes online lately. I read that it isn’t really Indian food, but Indian inspired British food. Anyway, it would seem that two rather important ingredients are either cream or yogurt and garam masala, neither of which I have right now. I know that the main spices in garam masala are cumin and probably cinnamon and other sweet spices like that, but my husband used up all the cumin and it hasn’t been replaced, and we don’t have any garam masala. So this is what I came up with. It’s pretty good, whether it bears any resemblance to actual butter chicken, I don’t know.

Ingredients:

6 halal chicken thighs

1 onion chopped

oil

3 TBSP. butter

2 TBSP garlic paste

1 TBSP curry powder

1 TBSP tandoori masala

1 tsp. cayenne pepper

1/4 cup tomato paste

3 heaping TBSP tahini

2-3 TBSP honey

a splash of milk

1/4 cup water

2 cups vegetable of choice ( cut into pieces)

salt to taste

Heat oil in a skillet medium/high. Add onion and chicken thighs. Cook until chicken browns, at least 10 minutes. Add garlic paste. Stir in. Stir in spices, tomato paste, tahini, honey, milk, and water. Stir to coat chicken. Add vegetables. Cover and simmer for 50 minutes, stirring occasionally and adding more water as needed.

Leave a Reply

